CORAF

Leading Agricultural Innovation in West and Central Africa

Home Burkina Faso

Contexte

 

Selon la Banque mondiale, l’économie du Burkina Faso fondée sur l’agriculture est toujours dominée par une production de subsistance et est caractérisée par une faible productivité des cultures agricoles et de l’élevage, une diversification faible, mais croissante, et une participation limitée des entreprises privées formelles au développement des chaînes de valeur agropastorales.

 

Comme dans les autres parties du Sahel, les agriculteurs du Burkina Faso sont confrontés à des défis inhérents au changement climatique. Ils ne sont souvent pas équipés pour répondre, de manière appropriée, aux difficultés du développement agricole. Les communautés déjà fragiles sont non seulement plus vulnérables du fait de conditions climatiques extrêmes, mais aussi les nuisibles et les maladies attaquent souvent les animaux et les cultures et les détruisent. Les agriculteurs n’ont pas souvent les instruments et les connaissances pour relever ces défis.

 

Cependant, vers le début des années 2000, la R&D au Burkina Faso a souffert d’un financement inapproprié, d’un groupe vieillissant de chercheurs, d’une rémunération insuffisante et d’une détérioration des infrastructures.

 

 

Le travail du CORAF au Burkina Faso

 

En sa qualité d’organisation chargée de la coordination de la recherche, le CORAF travaille de concert avec les systèmes nationaux de recherche agricole du Burkina Faso et avec les centres régionaux de spécialisation sur les fruits et légumes pour concevoir des solutions scientifiques et technologiques permettant aux acteurs de l’agriculture de faire face à ces défis.

 

Impact

 

A ce jour, le travail du CORAF a contribué :

 

  • à la génération de technologies agricoles innovantes à haute performance;
  • à l’accroissement de la productivité agricole par la fourniture de variétés à haut rendement ;
  • à la construction et à la réhabilitation de l’infrastructure de recherche et développement agricole ;
  • à l’amélioration de l’accès des producteurs aux innovations et aux technologies ;
  • à l’accroissement des revenus des producteurs ;
  • au renforcement des capacités de la recherche agricole ;
  • à la réduction de la pauvreté, de la faim et de la malnutrition dans les zones rurales.

 

La recherche et développement agricole au Burkina Faso

 

Environ quinze agences publiques font de la recherche agricole au Burkina Faso. L’Institut National de l’Environnement et de Recherches Agricoles (INERA) est la plus grande de ces agences, et travaille en étroite collaboration avec le CORAF.

 

Hormis son siège situé à Ouagadougou, l’INERA est composé du centre de recherches environnementales, agricoles et de formation, situé à Kamboinsé, et de cinq centres régionaux de recherche agricole et environnementale répartis entre les zones agroécologiques du pays.

 

Cinq autres agences gouvernementales font de la R&D au Burkina Faso. L’Institut de recherche en sciences appliquées et technologies (IRSAT), qui travaille sur la technologie alimentaire et le Centre National de Semences Forestières (CNSF) axé sur la recherche forestière.

 

Le secteur de l’enseignement supérieur joue un rôle de plus en plus important dans la R&D agricole au Burkina Faso. L’Université de Ouagadougou (UO) est, de loin, la plus grande agence de ce secteur.

 

Deux agences à but non lucratif – l’Association pour la promotion de l’élevage au Sahel et dans la savane (APESS) et le Centre Ecologique Albert Schweitzer – font de la R&D agricole, bien que cela soit sur une base ponctuelle. Au Burkina Faso, la recherche privée, à but lucratif, est limitée bien que la SOFITEX joue un rôle important dans la recherche sur le coton.

 

Je suis réellement impressionnée par l’effort fourni par le CORAF pour créer des synergies dans la recherche en vue de l’amélioration de la productivité agricole et des moyens d’existence des agriculteurs et de la population en termes de nutrition et d’atteinte de la sécurité alimentaire

 

Dr. Aline KOALA, Ambassadeur du Burkina Faso au Sénégal

Plus d'actualités sur le Burkina Faso

Explorez notre travail dans d'autres pays

Les résultats du PPAAO au Burkina Faso

Contact CNS Burkina Faso

Prénom: Hamidou
Nom: TRAORE
Institution: WAAPP Burkina
Titre: Coordonnateur CNS
Email: inera.direction@fasonet.bf
Téléphone: (226)70258060
BP/Ville: 04 B.P. 8645 – Ouagadougou 04
Fax: 226 50 34 02 71

Contact INERA Burkina Faso

Prénom: Hamidou
Nom: TRAORE
Institution: INERA
Titre: Directeur Général
Email: inera.direction@fasonet.bf
Téléphone: 226 70 25 12 04
BP/Ville: 04 B.P. 8645 – Ouagadougou 04
Fax: 226 50 34 02 71

CORAF

Leading Agricultural Innovation in West and Central Africa

Home Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso

Total Projects: 29
Total Investment in USD $: 5 426 291,99
*projects funded since 2008 without investments in infrastructure

The Context

 

According to the World Bank, Burkina Faso’s agriculture-based economy is still dominated by subsistence production and characterized by low crop and livestock productivity, low but increasing diversification, and the limited participation of formal private businesses in the development of agro-pastoral value-chains.

 

Like in other parts of the Sahel, farmers in Burkina Faso face challenges linked to climate change. Often, they are not equipped to respond adequately to the agricultural development difficulties. Not only are already-fragile communities more vulnerable as a result of extreme weather conditions, pests and diseases often attack and destroy animals and crops. Farmers do not often have the instruments and knowledge to deal with these challenges.

 

The government relies on the agriculture sector to transform the economy and improve the livelihood of the population. Research and development (R&D) is seen as critical to developing the innovative technologies to address these challenges.

 

However, by the early 2000s, R&D in Burkina experience inadequate financing, an aging pool of researchers, inequitable remuneration, and deteriorating infrastructure.

 

 

CORAF’s work in Burkina Faso

 

As a research coordination organization, CORAF works hand-in-hand with the national agricultural research systems of Burkina Faso as well as the regional centers of specialization on Fruits and Vegetable to devise science and technology solutions to enable agriculture actors to deal with some of these challenges.

Impact

 

To date, CORAF’s Work has contributed to:

 

  • Generating high-performing agricultural innovative technologies;
  • Increase in agricultural productivity through the provision of high-yielding varieties;
  • Construction and rehabilitation of agricultural research and development infrastructure;
  • Improved access to innovations and technologies by producers;
  • Increase in incomes of producers;
  • Strengthening of the capacity of agricultural research
  • Reduction in poverty, hunger, and malnutrition in rural areas

 

Agriculture Research and Development in Burkina Faso

 

About fifteen public agencies conduct agricultural research in Burkina Faso. The Environment and Agricultural Research Institute (INERA) is the largest and works in close collaboration with CORAF.

 

Aside from its headquarters in Ouagadougou, INERA comprises environmental and agricultural research and training center located in Kamboinsé, and five regional agricultural and environmental research centers distributed among the country’s agroecological zones.

 

Five other government agencies conduct agricultural R&D in Burkina Faso, the largest of which include the Research Institute for Applied Sciences and Technologies (IRSAT), which focuses on food technology and the National Forest Seed Center (CNSF), which focuses on forestry research.

 

The higher education sector plays an increasingly important role in agricultural R&D in Burkina Faso. The University of Ouagadougou (UO), is by far the largest agency in this category.

 

Two nonprofit agencies—the Association for the Promotion of Livestock in the Sahel and the Savanna (APESS) and Albert Schweitzer Ecological Center (CEAS)—conduct agricultural R&D, albeit on an ad hoc basis. Private for-profit research in Burkina Faso is limited, although SOFITEX plays an important role in cotton research.

 

I am really impressed by CORAF’s effort in creating synergies in research to improve agricultural productivity and the livelihood of farmers and population in terms of nutrition and towards the achievement of food security

 

Dr. Aline KOALA, Burkina Faso’s Ambassador to Senegal

Success Stories in Burkina Faso

Explore our work in others countries

CORAF in Burkina Faso

WAAPP at 10: Achievements

Contact CNS Burkina Faso

First Name: Hamidou
Last Name: TRAORE
Institution: WAAPP Burkina
Title: Coordonnateur CNS
Email: inera.direction@fasonet.bf
Phone: (226)70258060
PB/City: 04 B.P. 8645 – Ouagadougou 04
Fax: 226 50 34 02 71

Contact INERA Burkina Faso

First Name: Hamidou
Last Name: TRAORE
Institution: INERA
Title: Directeur Général
Email: inera.direction@fasonet.bf
Phone: 226 70 25 12 04
PB/City: 04 B.P. 8645 – Ouagadougou 04
Fax: 226 50 34 02 71

Institute of Environment and Agricultural Research